Graduate Programs

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at The University of Alabama. We offer seven graduate programs designed to bridge the gap between your undergraduate education and your professional life as a political scientist or public administrator. Read on to learn more about what makes our program a great next step in your career, and contact us with any questions.

Email Us

Degree Programs

a bookcase filled with assorted hard- and soft-cover volumes

The department offers the following graduate degree programs:

Master of Arts (MA)
Master of Public Administration (MPA)
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
Accelerated Master’s Program
Joint Programs (JD/MA, JD/MPA, JD/PhD) with UA School of Law

Detailed information can also be found in the UA Graduate Catalog and the Law School Catalog.

Graduate Catalog Law School Catalog

Curricula & Course Descriptions

For a complete description of your political science program’s curriculum and descriptions of individual courses, visit the UA Graduate Catalog. For details on any of our joint degree programs with the UA law school, visit the UA School of Law website.

Looking for the Schedule of Classes?

The UA course schedule is available through For instructions on using mybama, visit the website of the University Registrar.

a row of columns on a UA building

Graduate Admissions

Visit our Prospective Students page to learn about our admission process, deadlines, and funding.

For Prospective Students

More Information

Detailed information relating to the degrees offered by the Department of Political Science is contained in supplements issued to students by the department. For additional information on our graduate programs, use the following e-mail address: You may also contact one of the program directors listed on our contacts page.