colorful fall foliage on campus, next to a banner reading where legends are made

Support Political Science at UA

Our department and students have greatly benefitted over the years from the generosity of our alumni and friends.

Your financial gifts have enabled us to award annual scholarships to our most deserving students.

These gifts have also allowed us to enhance our program by bringing distinguished speakers to campus, as well as to provide scholarships to defray the costs for students to participate in valuable internship opportunities in Montgomery and Washington, D.C.

You may contribute to the Department of Political Science through a check, a credit card contribution, a gift of securities, a gift in trust, a bequest, or a transfer of property such as real estate. All gifts are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law, and may be unrestricted or designated for one of our specific funds listed below.

Political Science Department Gift Fund

Donations made to this fund support, among other things, graduate students, faculty research, and the award-winning UA Mock Trial Team. Contribute to the Political Science Department Gift Fund.

Lex Arden Fikes Scholarship

This award was established in 1985 by the parents of Lex Arden Fikes, who was a political science graduate student. The award is given to a political science graduate student each year. Support the Lex Arden Fikes Scholarship.

Walter Bennett Memorial Scholarship

This fund provides financial assistance to undergraduate and graduate students majoring in political science. The criteria for the award is based on financial need as well as academic achievement. Support the Walter Bennett Memorial Scholarship.

George McAdams Endowed Scholarship

This fund was established in 2001 and is used to provide scholarships and financial assistance to deserving undergraduate and graduate students who are studying public administration. Support the George McAdams Endowed Scholarship.

Buford Boone Memorial Scholarship

This award is targeted for undergraduate political science majors entering their junior year and is based on academic merit. Support the Buford Boone Memorial Scholarship.

Daniel W. Pound Memorial Scholarship

This award is given annually to a political science sophomore or junior with a distinguished academic record. Preference is given to students studying political theory. Support the Daniel W. Pound Memorial Scholarship.

Samuel Clabaugh Scholarship

This award is given to annually to a political science student in their sophomore year. The award is based on a combination of academic achievement and financial need. Support the Samuel Clabaugh Scholarship.

How To Give

Giving is quick, easy, and secure: Visit the University’s secure online giving page, The form will be pre-filled for the fund of your choice if you follow one of the links on this page. (All links open in new windows.)

If you would like to send your gift directly to the department, please use the following address (checks can be made payable to the Department of Political Science):

Joe Smith, Chair
Department of Political Science
The University of Alabama
Box 870213
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487

Thank you very much for your support! Please feel free to drop by and visit us on the third floor of ten Hoor Hall anytime.

Questions? Contact Department Chair Joe Smith at (205) 348-5981 or Kaila Nolen at (205) 348-5980.