Back to AlaPSA 2013 Home

Alabama Political Science Association 40th Annual Meeting Agenda

The University of Alabama, Hotel Capstone

April 19-20, 2013

Friday, April 19, 2013

12:00 – 2:00 p.m. Registration & Welcome Reception (Capstone Ballroom Lobby)

2:00 – 3:30 p.m. Breakout Panels: Session 1

3:30 – 3:45 p.m. BREAK

3:45 – 5:15 p.m. Breakout Panels: Session 2

5:00 – 5:30 p.m. Executive Committee Meeting (Location: Murphy)

5:15 – 5:30 p.m. BREAK

5:30 – 6:30 p.m. Reception (Location: Capstone Ballroom Lobby – Drinks and hors d’oeuvres)

6:30 – 8:30 p.m. Banquet & Symposium (Location: Capstone Ballroom)

“The State of Women & Politics in Alabama”

  • Lori Owens (Chair) (Associate Professor, Jacksonville State, and former Chair of the Alabama Women’s Commission)
  • Senator Linda Coleman (D-Birmingham)
  • Judge Beth Kellum (R-Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals)
  • Representative Mary Sue McClurkin (R-Pelham)
  • Brother Rogers (Associate Director of the John C. Stennis Center for Public Service)
  • Laura Sojka (Ph.D. Candidate, University of Alabama)
  • Representative Patricia Todd (D-Birmingham)

Saturday, April 20, 2013

8:00 – 9:15 a.m. Founder’s Breakfast (Location: Capstone Ballroom)

9:15 – 10:45 a.m. Alabama Politics Plenary Session (Location: Capstone Ballroom)

Chair: Mark Griffith (Professor, University of West Alabama)

  • Glen Browder (Professor, Jacksonville State University)
  • Mitchell Brown (Associate Professor, Auburn University)
  • D’Linell Finley (Adjunct Professor, Alabama State University)
  • Gerald Johnson (Professor Emeritus, Auburn University)
  • Bill Stewart (Professor Emeritus, University of Alabama)

10:45 – 11:00 a.m. BREAK

11:00 – 12:30 p.m. Breakout Panels: Session 3

12:30 – 2:00 p.m. AlaPSA Business Meeting and Lunch – Invited Guests (Location: Presidential Room )

Breakout Session 1: Friday, 2:00 – 3:30 p.m.

Session 1A: Education Policy (Location: President’s Room)

Chair and Discussant: Laura Sojka (Ph.d. Candidate, University of Alabama,

Session 1B: Comparative Politics (Location: Moore)

Chair and Discussant: Dr. Barbara A. Chotiner (Professor, University of Alabama,

Session 1C: American: State & Local Politics (Location: Clay)

Chair: Dr. Kathleen Hale (Associate Professor, Auburn University,

Discussant: Michael New (Assistant Professor, University of Michigan –Dearborn,

Session 1D: International Relations: Foreign Policy & Interstate Conflict (Location: Murphy)

Chair: Dr. Daniel Levine (Assistant Professor, University of Alabama,

Discussant: Dr. Sharron Herron-Williams (Interim Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, Alabama State University,


Breakout Session 2: Friday, 3:45 – 5:15 p.m.

Session 2A: Political Theory (Location: President’s Room)

Chair: Utz L. McKnight (Associate Professor, University of Alabama,

Discussant: Greg Austin (Instructor, University of Alabama,

Session 2B: American Politics: Political Knowledge & Behavior (Location: Moore)

Chair: Gerard Gryski (Professor, Auburn University)

Discussants: Gerard Gryski (Professor, Auburn University,, Hong Min Park (Assistant Professor, University of Alabama,

Session 2C: Public Policy in Alabama (Location: Clay)

Chair: Dr. Joseph Smith (Associate Professor, University of Alabama,

Discussant: Dr. Jeremy Lewis (Professor, Huntingdon College,

Session 2D: International Relations: International Organizations & Processes (Location: Murphy)

Chair: Dr. John Tures (LaGrange College,

Discussant: Emmanuel Obuah (Professor, Alabama A&M University,

Breakout Session 3: Saturday, 11:00 – 12:30 p.m.

Session 3A: American: The Evolution & Impact of American Institutions (Location: Clay)

Chair: Stephen Borrelli (Professor, University of Alabama,

Discussant: Stephen Borrelli (Professor, University of Alabama,

Session 3B: Public Administration and Public Policy (Location: Moore)

Chair: Dana Patton (Assistant Professor, University of Alabama,

Discussants: Marissa Grayson (Instructor, Samford University,, Dana Patton (Assistant Professor, University of Alabama;

Session 3C: Comparative Politics (Location: Murphy)

Chair: Gina Miller (Instructor, University of Alabama, Gina Miller (

Discussant: Dr. Terry Royed (Associate Professor, University of Alabama,

Session 3D: Case Studies of Identity Formation and Change in Europe: EU Europe, Ukraine, and Kaliningrad (Location: Fitzpatrick)

Chair: Dr. Derrick Frazier (ACSC; University of Alabama)

Discussant: Dr. Ronald Dains (ACSC)

  • The Birth and Potential Demise of the Cosmopolitan EU Identity – Dr. Mary Hampton (Associate Dean for Academics; Professor of National Security, ACSC)
  • Kaliningrad: Parameters for Identity Formation in a Russian Enclave – Col. Bob Smith (Dean of Resident Program, PhD Political Science)
  • The Fracture of Rus’: The Successor Identities of Galicia’s Ruthenians – Ms. Corinna Caudill